Honorary Life Members

Peter Stroh – 2021 Provincial HLM 

Peter Stroh has been an active contributor to numerous organizations since retiring from teaching in Saskatoon and his involvements in the Saskatoon Teachers’ Association and the STF.  Peter has been involved in the STS provincially and at the Chapter level.  His many involvements also extend well into the community of Saskatoon.

Provincially, Peter is a tireless advocate for retired teachers and older adults.  He has been a Delegate to AGM since 2007, submitting resolutions and speaking to them.  Peter has been active on recreation hosting committees and enjoys events such as fishing, golf and Kaiser.

At the Chapter level, Peter has been an Executive member of the Saskatoon Chapter since 2008 and has served in Vice-President, President and Past-President positions.  He has contributed to numerous Chapter committees including Honorary Life Member, Service Award and Resolutions Committees.  Peter has helped plan the Fall Welcome Breakfasts, Chapter banquets, socials and a variety of program presentations.  His has served on the Chapter Constitution and Bylaw Committee and Ad Hoc Committees.  Peter is an Honorary Life Member of the Saskatoon Chapter and is also a member of the Wakaw Chapter.

Peter is an active fixture in the wider community serving on the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association, University of Regina Alumni Association Senate representative, U of S Senate as well as Vice-President and Dean Search Committees.  He has Chaired the Saskatchewan Literacy Foundation, been a volunteer canvasser for various organizations, has initiated a volunteer program for vaccination support and is an Elections Canada Training Officer.  Peter loves recreational opportunities, is a player in the 60 Plus Hockey League and has served on the National 60 Plus Hockey League Host Committee.

For these many, many contributions to the STS and other organizations, it is an honour to award Peter Stroh Honorary Life Membership in the Superannuated Teachers of Saskatchewan.  His volunteerism and contributions at the provincial, local and community level are truly too numerous to list.

Elaine Broughton – 2019 Provincial HLM

– given by Shirley Henderson 

Every school, every organization and every community depends on people like Elaine Broughton. Elaine grew up on a farm near Lestock, studied teacher education in Saskatoon and began her teaching career at Wishart School. In 1975 she taught kindergarten in Hague, and after that she stayed with the Saskatchewan Valley School Division until her retirement I 2004.

Throughout her career, Elaine was active with the STF, and in retirement she became equally active in the STS. She sat on the executive of the Saskatoon Chapter, served on numerous Chapter committees, and was known as a regular volunteer when it came to set-up, clean-up and support duties related to Chapter activities. In 2007 she was elected to the Provincial Executive of the STS. One of her roles as an Executive member was to liaise with specific chapters, and she still keeps in touch with them to this day. She co-chaired the AGM Planning Committee for two years and took on committee work in the areas of Budget, Finance and Audit, Support Services, Office and Staffing, Retirement Lifestyles and Pre-Retirement Seminars. She also sat on the McDowell Foundation Board from 2012 to 2017, actively promoting the Foundation at each STS AGM.

Elaine’s history as a community volunteer is extensive. She has worked in municipal, provincial and federal elections; she is a 15 year member of the Red Hat Group; and she has put in over 1000 hours at Royal University Hospital driving the Royal Express and acting as an Information Host. Other charities benefitting from her support include the Children’s Festival, Clothes for Kids, Persephone Theatre, Immunization Clinics and Festival of Trees.

Elaine is always ready to pitch in when needed, and has over the years taken on a remarkable variety of tasks and roles at many levels. We are grateful for her contributions and consider it a privilege to award her Honorary Life Membership in the STS.


 RESPONSE –   Elaine Broughton

First of all I would like to say how honored I am to receive this award and to be in the company of the other recipients. We served on the Provincial Executive together and I have to admit – I taught them all they know.— No really I learned so much from each one of them, I can’t believe I am here along side them.

Thank-you so much, to Saskatoon and Wakaw Chapters for nominating me. Thank-you Shirley, for your citation. It is truly humbling to receive recognition such as this for doing something I enjoyed doing and had so much fun at. It gave me the opportunity to meet many members, especially from my rural Liaison Chapters; Rosetown, Wakaw, and Petrofka which includes colleagues I taught with. I am so thank-full to still be included in gatherings with them.

Of course I would be remiss, if I didn’t get a word in about the McDowell Foundation Raffle. Thanks to you, since 2012 when Judy Buzewetski and I had the brainwave, on a roadtrip to Regina, we have raised over $8.000.00 for McDowell.

Thank-you to my son and friends for coming tonight, to the Provincial Executive and to all of you who continue to work and keep our organization strong and active. Thank-you for this honor.


Saskatoon Chapter Honorary Life Members


2016   Peter Stroh
2015   George Georget
2014   Cecile Martell, Irma Kittelson
2013   Freda Robinson
2012   Marg Martin, Sadie Urban
2011   Lindsay Fast
2010   Margaret Cooper, Margaret Leaker
2009   Marie Hammer, Marlene Iachella
2008   Verne L Alldred, Stella Shulhan
2007   Ernie Epp, Bill Meger
2006   Robert E. Wilson
2005   Aldean Glass
2004   Rose Yaworski
2003   Elaine Panchuk
2002   Alice Hanlin, Terry Manley
1999   Fern Adair
1998   George Schmid, Anne Klaassen
1996   Willmer Willems
1994   Jim Holtslander